Lipsmackingthirstquenchingacetasting…

Talking about the dark ages of communications – I had a weird flashback moment to them this morning when I saw a piece about royal weddings in the paper,  illustrated with a picture from a Charles and Di street party in 1981.

There in the background was a Richard Shop – (a late and unlamented high street fashion chain, for younger readers.)

I could INSTANTLY remember all the words to the Richard Shop TV campaign – if you’re my age I bet you can too (google Richard Shops, there are pages and pages of sites devoted to it).  All together now:

Richard Shops are filled with all the pretty things/ soft and lovely pretty things to wear/  Hey there pretty face/ Make the world a prettier place/ Come pretty face/ Come buy your clothes at Richard Shops 

Thank God I was alone in the kitchen.  It led to a medley of classic 1970s/’80s advertising jingles which would have amazed and astounded my children, had they been there.

So, 2 questions:

  • Where the hell is this stuff stored?  Why can my memory  file and recall it so effectively, without being asked to, when so much else – the date of my next VAT return, for example – seems so much more elusive; and
  • Why don’t advertisers use songs like this in advertising any more?  They evidently imprint brand names on customers’ memories for decades.

I genuinely cannot remember a single recent ad for either Pepsi or Coke, but You Tubing the I’d Like To Buy The World A Coke song bought a nostalgic tear to my eye and, through the lump in my throat,  I could sing along with every word (and I really hate Coke) .

2 responses to “Lipsmackingthirstquenchingacetasting…

  1. The jingle came into my head the moment I saw the words “Richard Shops”, even before I got to the lyrics (lyrics?!)
    Funnily enough, I was having a similar conversation with my ten year old son who astonished himself by remembering an ad he saw when he was about three. I then remembered a radio ad which ran when I was a teenager, where the call to action was “call oh-one-eight-four-eight (pause) eight-seven-double three (pause) nyehine!”
    Perhaps the only way we’ll ever get rid of this stuff is when, as Homer Simpson feared, we get to the point where there are so many things in our brains that new stuff starts to push the old stuff out.

  2. I think it’s something to do with the combination of words and music – I can remember hundreds and hundreds of song lyrics but have trouble remembering more than a few lines of a poem. There’s definitely an educational use for this kind of memory, in fact I heard a story quite recently about how children are being encouraged to set revision notes to music so that they can recall them more easily in exams. If my head wasn’t so full of the Nimble bread song at the moment, I could probably remember where I heard the story and provide a link.

Leave a Reply

