The next ten words

Can’t claim to be the first to post this today – there are doubtless countless versions of this being uploaded onto blogs across the country.  Here’s my contribution to the Bartlet tsunami.  If only tonight was going to be half as much fun.

And here’s a question I’ve been waiting for someone to ask since this woeful campaign started:

Moderator: Governor Ritchie, many economists have stated that the tax cut, which is the centerpiece of your economic agenda, could actually harm the economy. Is now really the time to cut taxes?

Gov. Ritchie: You bet it is. We need to cut taxes for one reason – the American people know how to spend their money better than the federal government does.

Moderator: Mr. President, your rebuttal.

Bartlet: There it is. That’s the ten word answer my staff’s been looking for for two weeks. There it is. Ten-word answers can kill you in political campaigns. They’re the tip of the sword. Here’s my question: What are the next ten words of your answer? Your taxes are too high? So are mine. Give me the next ten words. How are we going to do it? Give me ten after that, I’ll drop out of the race right now. (Debate Camp)

One response to “The next ten words

  1. Toby to Josh: The difference between us is that you want to beat them. I just want to win. (20 Hours in America)

    Bartlet to Ritchie: In the future, if you’re wondering, “Crime. Boy. I don’t know” is when I decided to kick your ass.

    Bartlet on Ritchie “a 22 calibre mind in a .357 Magnum world”.

Leave a Reply

