Shoulders down, back straight

Fed up of swearing and wincing in pain every time I get up from my old office chair, I went to buy a new one the other day.   Apparently it’s not just the chair, it’s the desk, my husband (he’s too tall, so the desk is too high for me – although it’s still too low for him), my computer (laptops are notoriously bad for giving you a bad back) and the length of my arms that’s wrong.  So I don’t just need a new chair, I need an electronically adjustable desk, a chair with a gas-lift, a laptop arm, a wireless keyboard and new mouse, a footrest and possibly a new husband before I can rise gracefully from my desk again.

If I had a decent employer I’d threaten to sue and have occupational health round faster than you can say compensation.  As it is, I’ll just have to scrabble down the back of the ergonomically unsound sofa for some spare change and put up with the fact that the corner of my house that serves as my office will soon look like the flight deck of a space ship.

For anyone else with the same problem, here’s some advice about how to sit (it sounds so simple…).  If your problem is marital incompatibility I’m afraid you’re on your own.

2 responses to “Shoulders down, back straight

  1. Hi,

    I just saw your post and thought I would send you our website info on electric height adjustable desks. http://www.conset.us

    Mark

Leave a Reply

