Here we go again

aganeI honestly do like my job.  I believe in what I do and I enjoy the people I work with (most of the time).  But I’ve just picked up the first work-related email I’ve had since Christmas Eve, and the sense of prison doors clanging shut is driving me to the emergency chocolate supply.

4 responses to “Here we go again

  1. Richard Lambert

    At least as a sole trader, you do not have to deal with the teechers who are all teddy boys who would slit your throat with a broken bottle for two pins (so would i sa mother so would i).

    In moments like this, I would suggest reading Tennyson’s The Brook, as a distinguished former soldier apparently considers it tip-top, and recommends it to his men before battle instead of RUM.

    Slightly more seriously, while Monday may be coming like a jail on wheels, and I feel much the same as you, I know that once I am back in, the feeling will subside once I meet up with my grate friend peason and we can terrorise fotherington-thomas together, impress the teenies with our knoledj and wisdom and avoid hearing molesworth 2’s rendition of Fairy Bells, which sound like a lancaster bomber overhead. The Futuology post reminded me that “brave new world” is actually a gasp of joy, wonder and optimism at the possibilties of the new and unknown, deflated by the world weary “tis new to thee.” There is always optimism (“Voila! La ciel est bleu et le soleil brille.”) in a situation, and it is easy to allow pessismism to overcome it (“Mais regard les nuages gris. Il va pleurir.”).

    Perhaps you would find it soothing to meditate upon the question “Are the Andes?”

  2. You do realise that 98% of the people reading this will have not the faintest idea what you’re talking about and be expecting the men in white coats to be round sharpish? Tee hee!

  3. And oafs will be oeufs! It made complete sense to me. Any fule kno that 81.4% of all statistics are made up on the spot. QED

  4. And the answer to the question is, I neither kno nor care.

Leave a Reply

